Writing Committee

The individual members of the Writing Committee, all seasoned teachers with experience using a wide variety of textbooks and teaching methods, begin writing the exams each spring. By the middle of August the members, meeting together as a committee, begin the difficult task of reviewing each exam with respect to the level of difficulty, content, and accuracy. After several revisions, the exams are sent to the consultants for their in-depth critiques. Acting upon their suggestions, the committee makes further changes. After a final review, proofing, and fine-tuning, the exams are printed and sent to the schools.

It usually takes the committee twelve to fifteen sessions averaging three to four hours each to complete the work associated with the exams. In addition to the general working sessions, each committee member spends hours taking care of specific tasks such as answering correspondence, word processing, record keeping, publicizing the exam, and writing newsletter articles.

Joe Davenport
Norwell Middle School
Norwell, Massachusetts
Ian Hochberg
St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes School
Alexandria, Virginia
Mark Keith
Riverbend HS
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Donna Dollings
Midlothian, Virginia
Debra Heaton
Woburn High School
Woburn, Massachusetts
Emily Lewis
Lake Braddock Secondary School
Burke, Virginia
Patricia Lister
Thomas Jefferson HS for Sci & Tech
Alexandria, Virginia
Betty Merrill
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Linda S. Montross
Heathsville, Virginia
Sue Robertson
Midlothian, Virginia
Lauren Rogers
Salem Academy
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Jane Hall
White Stone, Virginia

Office Staff

Janine Kuty
Office Manager
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ellen Smith
Administrative Assistant/Data Entry Specialist
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Meagan Wilkinson
Student Aide
Fredericksburg, Virginia


Every fall the Writing/Steering Committee sends drafts of the seven exams to the consultants who are current high school teachers, college professors, or former educators. These consultants are split into two groups, the first group receiving the exams around mid-September and the second group in mid-October. David Perry, our macron specialist, adds the macrons to all the Latin words on the exams. The consultants carefully critique every question on each of the exams, offer suggestions for improvement, and return their comments to the Writing/Steering Committee within a week’s time. Their ideas and contributions are invaluable in the process of preparing the exams for distribution to national and international Latin students.

Michael Bales
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
David Bloch
Washington, DC
Cindy Pope Caltagirone
Web Page Consultant
Charleston, South Carolina
Sally Davis
Arlington, Virginia
Kathy Elifrits
Highland Heights, Kentucky
Kevin Gushman
Falls Church, Virginia
Ruth Haukeland
Port Washington, New York
Liz Heimbach
Port Royal, Virginia
Rick LaFleur
Arnoldsville, Georgia
David R, Pellegrino
Webster, New York
David Perry
Rye, New York
Wallace Ragan
Washington, DC

Scholarship Committee

The NLE Scholarship committee is composed of seven readers: three college professors and three high school teachers plus the Chair. Only two professors and two high school teachers serve as readers each year. The applications are read several times prior to the selection of the twenty-one scholarship winners and five alternates. The first screening is done by the Chair. A second screening is then done to determine which applications will be sent to the readers. Approximately ninety applications are sent to the readers for a third reading. Each reader selects his top thirty-five applications and returns these selections to the chair. At this time, the committee members’ choices are collated, and the winners are chosen. The names of the Scholars are announced at The American Classical League Institute late in June.

Ephy Howard
Troy, Alabama
Sarah Bjorkman
Randall Childree
Greenville, South Carolina
Temple Eller
Greensboro, North Carolina
Linda S. Montross
Heathsville, Virginia
Bob Simmons
Monmouth, Illinois
Michael Sloan
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Sandra Woodward
Salt Lake City, Utah

Advisory Committee

The members of the NLE Advisory Committee represent the various geographic areas of the country, from both public and private middle schools, high schools, and colleges. Their job is to listen to suggestions that teachers around the country may have regarding the exams. When the Advisory Committee meets with the Writing Committee at the ACL Institute each June, these suggestions are presented and discussed. Please contact any of these members with your comments, suggestions, questions, or concerns about the National Latin Exam. This is a very important way in which your ideas can receive attention.

Caroline Kelly
Charlotte, North Carolina
Liane Houghtalin
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Nora MacDonald
Seattle, Washington
Mary Pendergraft
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Amy Sommer
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Kristin Webster
Potomac, Maryland

Advisory: Colleges and Universities

Liane Houghtalin
University of Mary Washington
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Mary Pendergraft
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, North Carolina